bldngpencil

The history of Bredbo

Bredbo evolved as a village to support squatters’ runs established as Bredbow and Bridbow between 1848 – 50. The Bredbo area prospered in the midst of the Monaro’s Marino (sheep) country and Bredbo was proclaimed a village in 1888.

Bredbo boasts a number of historic buildings one of which is The Bredbo Inn; this was originally built as a stagecoach stop on the way to the South Coast or Snowy Mountains and later as a stop for railway travelers. The Inn was once the home of Charles Keahnie a contender for the title “The Man from Snowy River” who sadly passed away in the Inn’s stables from injuries sustained in an accident on the old Bredbo Bridge.

Gold was discovered in the area in the late 1800’s and a field was proclaimed along the Bredbo River this was worked until 1921. In the 1930’s a geological survey was undertaken and a mine opened and operated until 1942. The first recorded production was in 1940 when 3523 ounces of gold was extracted valued at 34650 pounds. The mine was reopened in 1986 and operated for some years after that.